All ISF board members and staff have experience with components of sustainabliity as well as international and local experiences. We are now or have worked at universities, interntional law firms, on farms, in theatre, for service organizations, international aid organizations and agencies, for local and international environmental NGOS and human rights NGOs. We are or have been professors, lawyers, advocates, elected officials, advocates and more.

Jeffrey Barber

Since joining ISF in 1992, Jeffrey Barber has engaged in both public interest advocacy and organizing efforts, nationally and internationally, focusing especially on the importance of strategic… Read More

Karen Onthank
Executive Director

Karen Onthank brings to ISF decades of international and non-profit experience in the areas of sustainability, environment and human rights. With ISF and other organizations, Karen has… Read More

Jefferson Boyer
Board Member

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology, and founder of the Sustainable Development (SD) Program, now a department, at Appalachian State University (ASU). His research foci include political economy… Read More

Susan Fattig
Board Chair

Susan Fattig was raised on a working farm in Nebraska, where sustainability was a way of life. She graduated magna cum… Read More

K W James Rochow
Board Secretary/Treasurer

K. W. James Rochow is an international environmental consultant and advocate headquartered in Washington, DC. He has had over thirty-five years of experience in environmental law and policy at all… Read More

Dianne Dillon Ridgely
Board Director

Sustainability Advocate Dianne Dillon-Ridgley has actively promoted sustainability through numerous governmental, intergovernmental, NGO, philanthropic and corporate entities. She has served on… Read More

Thomas Rogers
Board Director

Thomas Rogers is a consultant and citizen advocate focused on sustainable
development, humanitarian assistance and disaster response and recovery. Retired
in 2018, he worked on… Read More

John & Libby Morse

Pioneers John and Libby Morse established the Survival in Freedom Foundation, SURFREE, in 1970, abetting more than one a hundred organizations for broadened approaches in dealing with the various… Read More

Jessica Morse
Honorary Board Director

Jessica Morse is an assistant professor at the University of North Carolina Family Planning at the UNC School of Medicine in Chapel Hill. Dr. Morse is also an obstetrician-gynecologist at the UNC… Read More

Shakhlo Khasanova
ISF Fellow

Shakhlo Khasanova has a wealth of experience in sustainable urban development and smart cities. She received her first Master's degree in International Business and Management from Westminster … Read More